Editorial Board

The Plant Metabolic Network editorial board is an international assemblage of some of the world-class experts and leaders in varied domains of plant primary and secondary metabolism.

Our board provides overall vision and guidance to the PMN project and plays an active role in ensuring the high quality of the information present in the PMN.

More specifically, editors may review curated pathways for their accuracy and coverage before they are published online, either directly or via solicitation to other experts. They may also identify missing pathways and enzymes and inform curators of literature references to be used for curating new pathways or updating existing pathways.

Amines and Polyamines

Markus Piotrowski - Ruhr University Bochum, Germany

Amino Acids

Thomas Leustek - Rutgers University, USA


Maor Bar-Peled - Complex Carbohydrate Research Center, University of Georgia, USA

Cofactors, Prostethic Groups, and Electron Carriers

Tadhg Begley - Texas A&M University, USA
Dean Dellapenna - Michigan State University, USA
Nick Smirnoff - University of Exeter, UK
Alison Smith - University of Cambridge, UK
Takashi Hashimoto - Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
Ed Cahoon - University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA

Fatty Acids and Lipids

Jan Jaworski - Donald Danforth Plant Science Center, USA
Basil Nikolau - Iowa State University, USA
Ruth Welti - Kansas State University, USA

Hormones and Regulators

Sue Abrams - National Research Council-Plant Biotechnology Institute, Canada
Jerry Cohen - University of Minnesota, USA
Mary Wildermuth - University of California, Berkeley, USA

Nucleosides and Nucleotides

Rita Zrenner - Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology, Germany


Peter Facchini - University of Calgary, Canada


Erich Grotewold - Ohio State University, USA
Lloyd Sumner - The Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation, USA
Brenda Winkel - Virginia Tech, USA
Oliver Yu - Donald Danforth Plant Science Center, USA


Clint Chapple - Purdue University, USA
David Gang - University of Arizona, USA

Plant Volatiles

Eran Pichersky - University of Michigan, USA


Jonathan Page - National Research Council-Plant Biotechnology Institute, Canada
Mark Lange - Washington State University, USA


Wolf Frommer - Carnegie Institution for Science, USA